A warm cocoon of a sweater

I reached this sweater through a rather circuitous route.  First, I was going to make the Overcast sweater.  I wanted it to be a bit heartier, so I bought some Caron Big Cake yarn (the worsted weight, not bulky), which necessitated the use of a 5mm hook.  I figured that would be okay, since I wanted to size it up, because I wanted it to be roomy.  Big mistake!  The thickness of the yarn and the stripes of back post double crochet meant that it didn’t drape – at all.  So it wore like an oversized suit of armor.  Fortunately, I discovered this before I had done the hood and sleeves, so I unraveled it and looked for another project on which to use this yarn.

I eventually landed on this:

The Habitat Cardigan – Beginner Crochet Sweater Video Tutorial

This was a sweater I had frequently considered making and now I had the exact yarn to make it with.  This is a very easy sweater to make and the texture in the main body adds interest.  If you’ve never crocheted a sweater before, this is a really good one to start with – the pattern even includes a video if any parts of it are confusing.

I wanted to make this in a larger size so it would slouch and drape more, but didn’t have enough yarn for that.  But it’s just as well, since I’m in the process of losing weight, so this sweater will eventually fit that way anyway.
Cocoon sweater

Leave a comment