Light, but sturdy

Among the many things lost in the fire were our blankets. Besides the fairly simple quilts I made over the years, I also crocheted a few blankets. So I’ve started the process of replacing them. I have a fairly ornate one planned for me (check this site in a few months…). But Jack wanted something simple and, more importantly, light. During the week, we sleep separately, since our work schedules are so dissimilar and we’d prefer to get more than four hours of sleep each. On the weekends, I wake up to find myself covered in a double-layer of bedclothes, from Jack throwing his side of them onto me. So light-weight is crucial.

Inspiration struck when Hobbii had a sale – and I stocked up like mad on all sorts of yarn, including Dream Colour, which is a sport-weight superwash wool. Light, but very sturdy, which was perfect for my needs.

Also, I wanted to keep this simple, since this blanket wouldn’t really see the light of day. And Jack was not a fan of the small, chunky granny squares, which has been the historic motif of many a crochet blanket. The result was this:

I alternated square centers with round ones, to break things up a bit. Each square is a bit over a foot in diameter and the whole blanket is about four-and-a-half feet by six-and-a-half feet. Six squares of each colour. This project took sixteen skeins and I used a 4.5 mm hook.

This blanket is also a big hit with our kitty.

Leave a comment