A bit hokey – I mean homey

I did this latest project on a whim, after seeing several photos of giant crocheted Christmas trees. Apparently, these giant community projects are A Thing now. So I decided to do a very small version. This took a bit of planning, since I had to decide the underpinning structure and whether I wanted to crochet this in just one piece or several. I’ve seen giant contiguous granny square trees, mostly, but that would have meant creating several tiny granny squares and stitching them together, which was a bit too fiddly for me. I settled on crocheting individual triangle-ish shapes that I would attach to a cone form.

I made three sizes of these. The largest ones started with nine stitches, up to eleven, then back to nine, and gradually decreased to one. This allowed for a top section to be attached to the form and the visible part to begin at the widest section. The medium ones were nine stitches wide and the small ones seven stitches wide. For the top four pieces, I crocheted diamond shapes, so that it would come to a point at the top. After some inner debate, I decided to use pins to attach them to the Styrofoam cone, as glue would have been too fiddly and hot glue would have melted the Styrofoam.

The simulated lights were made with some leftover Hobbii Twister Solid yarn. I chained nine, then in the last chain, crocheted six SC to make a ring, then twelve in the outer ring. Then I chained nine and repeated until I had eighteen “lights” on a chain. I did this with four colours. Then I crocheted a white star for the top of the tree.

For the base, I used a dowel and a spare piece of wood I cut into a circle, drilled a hole into, sanded and painted black.

I used Red Heart Super Saver yarn for the tree and a 6mm hook. For the lights, I used a 3.25mm hook. 

I may re-think the simulated lights, as I am not entirely satisfied with how they turned out – but maybe not.

Leave a comment